Celebrating the St. Pete Literary Community

The St. Petersburg Press Roy Peter Clark Award

Roy Peter Clark is an American writer, editor, and teacher of writing who has become a writing coach to an international community of students, journalists, and writers. He is also senior scholar and vice president of the Poynter Institute for Media Studies, a journalism think-tank in St. Petersburg, Florida, and is the founder of the National Writers Workshop. Clark has appeared on several radio and television talk shows, speaking about ethics in journalism and other writing issues.

Roy Peter Clark Top Titles

What is the RPC Award?

The Roy Peter Clark award – sponsored annually by the St. Petersburg Press – celebrates outstanding contribution to the St Petersburg story, and is presented in recognition of the recipient’s outstanding contribution to the greater St. Petersburg literary community.

Roy Peter Clark is a St. Petersburg fixture. He is known, for good reason, as America’s writing coach.

The St Petersburg Press presents the Roy Peter Clark Award annually to honor Clark and recognize the impact of his career and ongoing community contributions.

What is the award criteria?

Members of the St Petersburg Press Staff,  Roy Peter Clark and the Advisory Board will accept nominations from March 1, 2020 until April 10, 2020. The board will then vote to determine the recipient of the award. Self nominations are allowed.

Award nominees must:

  • Reside, at least part time, in the Greater St. Petersburg area
  • Be actively involved in the St. Petersburg literary community

Want to nominate
a literary hero for the RPC Award?

Application Window Opens March 1, 2020

Are you an author?

St. Petersburg Press Supports Authors to get their work Published.